St. Anthony Foundation Announces 2019 Health Care Scholarships

2019 Scholarships provided by St. Anthony

posted on 1/23/2019 in Press Releases

Each year, St. Anthony invests in the next generation of health care professionals by providing scholarships made available by families and donors in west central Iowa. Scholarship applications are now available through the St. Anthony Foundation for students pursuing a profession in a health care field, and are due Friday, March 29, 2019.

“St. Anthony is proud to contribute to the continued education of tomorrow’s health care leaders,” said Trish Roberts, St. Anthony Foundation Development Director. “By providing scholarships to students pursuing health care careers, we are supporting those individuals as well as the health care industry. This invaluable investment is made possible with the generous support of foundation donors and families who recognize the impact of the programs we offer and the important work we do at St. Anthony.”

Scholarships vary in amounts starting at $500, and include: Dick Blair Memorial Scholarship; Sarah Keat Danner Healthcare Scholarship; Susan D. Ludwig Nursing Scholarship; Sharon Staton Peters Memorial Scholarship; Elizabeth Riedmann Healthcare Scholarship; Helen M. Schmitz Memorial Scholarship; Margaret Seidl Healthcare Scholarship; Dick and Marsha Simons Healthcare Scholarship; Rick Simons Healthcare Scholarship; Sheryl M. Venner Stoolman Memorial Scholarship; Mary Thaler Yates Memorial Scholarship, Bob and Mary Lou Ware Memorial Scholarship, the St. Anthony Auxiliary Scholarship; and the St. Anthony Foundation Scholarship.

All scholarships require students to maintain a 2.5 minimum grade point average. Only one application needs to be submitted to apply for all scholarships listed above offered through the St. Anthony Foundation.

Scholarship applications and guidelines are available from guidance counselors at most local high schools, including Ar-We-Va, Audubon, Carroll Community, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Denison, East Sac County, Glidden-Ralston, Greene County, IKM-Manning, Kuemper Catholic and South Central Calhoun; as well as at Des Moines Area Community College and Western Iowa Tech Community College. Applications and guidelines can also be found on the St. Anthony website,, or at the St. Anthony Human Resources and Foundation offices.